Are You Hiring Teenagers for Summer?

If you have teenagers under the age of 18 working at your business, you need to be aware of the state and federal laws regulating the types of jobs they can do, their minimum pay rate, the number of breaks you’re required to give them, and the limits on the number of hours they can work.

Minimum Wage:

  • The current minimum wage in Florida is $8.46 an hour. You must pay all employees, regardless of age, at least this amount for each hour they work.
  • For employees who receive tips from customers (like food servers), you must pay them a direct cash wage of at least $5.44 an hour.  This is in addition to the tips they receive. If the combination of an employee’s tips and the direct cash wage of $5.44 an hour does not equal the minimum wage of $8.46 an hour, you must pay them the difference.

Age Requirements:

  • With certain exceptions, teenagers must be at least 14 years old to work in Florida.
  • Teenagers younger than 18 cannot drive automobiles as part of their job.  The only exception is for 17-year-olds, who may drive cars and small trucks during daylight hours and only under very limited circumstances.

During the summer, 14 and 15-year-olds:

  • Can work up to 8 hours a day but no more than 40 hours per week.
  • Can work between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m.
  • Must be given a 30-minute, uninterrupted break after 4 consecutive hours of work. The break can be unpaid.
  • Can work in most office jobs and retail or food service establishments, but may not sell, prepare or serve alcoholic beverages.
  • May operate certain equipment in restaurants, such as dishwashers, toasters, milk shake blenders, and coffee grinders.
  • Cannot operate most power-driven machinery, including lawnmowers, lawn trimmers, and weed cutters.
  • Cannot work in any workplace where goods of any kind are manufactured or processed.

During the summer, 16 and 17-year-olds:

  • Have no limit on the number of hours they may work each day and each week. But if they work more than 40 hours in a work week, they must receive overtime pay.
  • Have no limit on the time of day they may work.
  • Can work only 6 consecutive days per work week.
  • Must be given a 30-minute, uninterrupted break after 4 consecutive hours of work. The break can be unpaid.
  • Cannot sell, prepare, or serve alcoholic beverages.
  • Cannot drive automobiles as part of their job.  [There is a limited exception for 17-year-olds; see “Age Requirements” above.]
  • Cannot perform electrical work, work in or around toxic substances or pesticides, or use power-driven bakery machines or meat slicers.

Roofing Prohibited:

Employees under 18 years of age cannot work in roofing occupations or work on or near a roof.  This includes all work performed in connection with the installation of roofs, as well as any work on the ground related to roofing operations.  Minors are also prohibited from working near a roof doing things like gutter and downspout work; installing/servicing TV, cable, or satellite equipment; or installing/servicing HVAC equipment attached to roofs.

Required Records:

If your business hires an employee under the age of 18, you are required to post a Child Labor poster at your place of business.  FUBA will provide you with this poster at no charge.

To request a poster, please email us at and include your FUBA member number, business name, mailing address and contact name.

You can also download it by clicking here.

You are also required to keep records to prove the age of all minors you hire by keeping a copy of one of the following:

  • The minor’s birth certificate.
  • The minor’s driver’s license.
  • An age certificate issued by the School Board.
  • The minor’s passport or visa.

Loans Available for Businesses Damaged by Hurricane Irma

The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) has created the Rebuild Florida Business Loan Fund to help Florida’s businesses recover from hurricane damage.  The Rebuild Florida Business Loan Fund provides businesses that experienced physical damage or economic injury from Hurricane Irma with loans at market interest rates. Eligible businesses can receive up to $500,000 in financing.

At this time, these loans are only available for businesses damaged by Hurricane Irma.  The DEO is waiting on approval from the federal government to make relief available for damage due to Hurricane Michael.

Eligible expenditures include:

  • Working Capital/Line of Credit
  • Refinance Business Debt
  • Purchase Inventory or Equipment
  • Renovation/Expansion
  • Acquisition of Land
  • Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment
  • Property Improvements
  • Business Acquisition or Expansion

For information on the Rebuild Florida Business Loan program and how to apply, go to

Read Issue [PDF]